The Hills

My best friend as you all know is Jason Hill.  Most of his family and I call him Jace.  His family owns a small ranch in Texas.  It is a Venatori getaway as well as a predominate source of Apex Unlimited’s cattle for it’s projects – retail, food, etc – nothing goes to waste.

In the middle of no where near enough to the coast to actually spend a day there and sleep in your own bed is where they call home.  Jace has two loving parents which I envy about him the most.  Bruce and Maggie Hill are wonderful people and they have taken care of me the best that I would let them.  I regret some of the things I’ve said to them over the years, but they still hug me when I see them so I guess they’ve forgiven me my antics.

Jace has three older siblings and two younger.  Evan is the oldest hill, he helps on the farm as their business advisor and accountant.  He actually went to college for that stuff – how boring.  Shauna is the next oldest and she’s married to some guy and moved to London.  They met at the Academy and fell in love and have three lovely children.  Then there is Billy.  He is the families lawyer and one of the leading divorce attorneys in Texas.  Humans pay a great deal of money to him to settle their spats.

Then Jace, who is an Academy teacher.  He married Mia 9 years ago, and they have two lovely children, Naya and JJ (Jason Jr.) I adore the kids.  They call me Uncle Nox and they have me wrapped around their little fings and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love them with all my heart.  As much and more than Jace.

Jace’s younger sister, Reshia is still in the Academy, her and Henry were born much later than the others, they are twins and the last of the Hill brood.  They have one more year left and then they will likely return home to help with the family business as they aren’t inclined to do much else.

The Hill are the closest thing I have to a true family but even then I feel uncomfortable when with them all together.  I feel like an outsider, but I know that’s my own head getting in the way.  I am welcome among them, but my own issues taint what I could have.  I’ afraid that will happen when I start my own family.  Maybe that’s why I’ve put it off for the past 10 years.

