The Path Less Traveled

Follow the yellow brick road, follow the yellow brick road, Follow, follow, follow…

Yeah, let’s follow the yellow brick road through the creepy forest and through the poppy field that puts you to sleep that sounds like the most wonderful plan.  Not to mention all the flying monkey’s and the Wicked Witch of the West who is hunting you down like a dog because your house landed on her sister.  Seriously, it was an accident, do houses usually fall from the sky where you are from?

Dorothy took the road she was told to like the good little girl that she was and it still landed her in a deep doo doo in the long run.  Sure there was a happy ending and a lesson learned – “There is no place like home.” But could she have avoided all of that to begin with by not following the yellow brick road?

There really is only one way to the Emerald City?  Was the yellow brick road the safest way?  If it was it could be fun to imagine all the nasty things she could have encounters.  But what if it wasn’t, it was just the quickest way?  Quick doesn’t always mean best.

I’ve learned this lesson over and over again in my life.  Just because a Venatori is fast doesn’t mean that other creatures aren’t faster.  I’ve seen seasoned Venatori hunters be taken out by young vampires.  I’ve seen werewolves mangle the most seasoned hunter.  I’m slower than full Venatori hunter and I can still win a match.  Sometimes it takes more than strength and speed to win.  I’ve lost plenty too because my biggest downfall is my own ego.  I am not the best, I do strut around like I am.  I do pretend to think so because it kept me safe from some of the bigger threats, if I acted bad ass people might leave me alone.  And when push came to shove I only hoped I could get the last lick before getting caught.  In the real world it doesn’t work like that.

I don’t follow the path that some vision question foresaw for me.  I follow my own free will, and whether or not that path is where the quests lead then fine by me.  But I make my own choices.  I take my own successes and failures and learn from them.  I don’t follow the yellow brick road to the Emerald City, I find my own way.

