Limited Visibility

My father can see the future.  It’s a rare talent even among the Venatori.  It’s not like he gets these visions that are prophetic or anything, it’s more like the concept in the movie Next, where Nicholas Cage’s character can see 2 minutes into the future and run every possible scenario in the blink of an eye.

I’ve had  limited conversations with my father over the past few years trying my best to get to know the man who I had looked up to my entire life and then I hated for a few years because he hadn’t wanted me.  It took Margo a little over two years to help me see that my father was just as much a victim in this as I was.  He hadn’t been told I existed.  It wasn’t his fault.  He probably would have loved me.  But I didn’t get to know that love when I needed it most.But I’m trying now.  Neither of us are happy about it but we are trying.

In those conversations, we’ve discussed our abilities among many other things.  I don’t know how my father’s work anymore than he does mine.  He says it took time to refine into what it is today – the ability to look into the future and see possibilities when he wants to.  He says it still happens randomly once and a while.  But it is the reason he is one of the greatest hunters in the Venatori.

I’m glad my vision is limited.  At least in knowing what can happen next.  I don’t like surprises but I wouldn’t want to know too much about my life.  I don’t want it to depress me, or make my life worse by knowing.  The simple act of knowing can change the future.  I don’t believe in predestined or fate, free will is what makes us different from animals. We rely on more than instinct.

