Target Practice

The only thing a pigeon is good for is target practice.  They are nothing but flying rats.  They scavenge everything and poop everywhere – flying rats!

Though I have never thrown a fireball at a pigeon.  That’s not exactly a good way to die – burning alive.  I can’t imagine it – wait yes I can.

I can still smell the burning flesh of my own body when that dragon tried to scorch me.  It’s not the flesh so much as the hair really.  But both combined is not a pleasant smell.  I was grateful for my ability to douse the dragon’s fire.  But I have a confession to make.  I am done the same to a man before.

It is toted as an accident in the Academy and even the man I purposely lit on fire claims it was an accident.  But I did, I tried to burn a man alive.  I was defending myself, but still I meant to hurt him.  I don’t think my 6 year-old brain could comprehend the magnitude of my actions, I was protecting myself in the only way my little body could then.  The only way I knew how.

It’s one of the biggest reasons I don’t believe in killing every mark because I can.  If I’d been a dragon I’d have been killed immediately.  I harmed another with my gifts.  Accident or not, those are the rules as the Venatori see it.  But I am Venatori thus the rules are different.  Not in my book.  We are all the same.  We all have special abilities we just need to put the right punishment with the right crime.  It sounds easy but to change millennia worth of tradition is difficult.  I do my best to set an example, not that anyone follows exactly, but I do what I can.

