My Theory

Dae’lin has always encouraged me to dig into what I find fascinating – to learn something that I find interesting.  That was her way of saying, learning can be fun too instead of nose in the books must get an A that she required of me.

Training begins with your fundamentals that all persons living should understand – reading, writing and arithmetic.  Our history encompasses all races part of the Clandestine Providence, including humans.  Especially human history – we can’t blend in if we don’t act human, know what humans would know.  Some Venatori children even go to human schools for the first 6 or 7 years of their lives before Venatori training becomes mandatory.  That is where you learn about our culture, our history, how to fight, and most importantly about every other race out there.

I struggled through school.  The things that came easy to me were the things that had patterns – math, chemistry, physics – puzzles to figure out.  Nearly everything else took a lot of work for me to get through.  So Dae’lin pushed me to seek out things I wanted to learn which ended up being more of the same patterns, the elements themselves.  I taught myself how to see the patterns everywhere.  In the object on my desk, in the air when the wind blows.  Patterns are everywhere if you train your eyes to see them.  It takes work to learn, and it takes even more work to unsee what you know is there.

But for some people patterns of the elements the know never completely disappear, they always seem them, but for someone like me it would be like looking the Matrix once Neo figured out what he was, all those patterns always there, being able to manipulate them with ease.  I can do that.

And in my last 10 years since leaving the Academy I’ve had a lot of time to refine my theories.  I believe those who can see the patterns, whether it is something learned, or natural can touch them and eventually with enough training manipulate them.  For as long as there have been Cesari, the innate ability to touch every element at the same time has been uncommon because it was thought to be impossible.  But if I’ve learned one thing about my life, is nothing is impossible – improbable, yes, but impossible is not a word I associate with anything anymore.  In the Venatori there are many could be Magnus – but they can only see the elements any attempt to manipulate them have failed.  I believe they just aren’t being shown the correct method of touching them.  Sometimes old school methods don’t work in a new world.

