Blurred Lines

The actual name of the file uploaded was blurred_lines.  Yes it’s blurred but not exactly lines at least not that I see.  I started out thinking I would write about patterns here – how I see the world.  But the name of the file made me think of something else – how many blurred lines are in my life.

I am neither Venatori nor Human.  I am neither straight nor gay.  I knew neither my mother nor my father.  I could probably go on, but you get the idea.  I have never been one to conform to the things that I should.  I’m not a straight A student because I like studying – it was forced upon me.  It was either you get an A or you don’t practice magic.  What can I say I was a sucker for my “god-given” talent of bending the four elements.

It has become such a part of my life that I can’t imagine a world without it.  There are so many things that are unknown about what we do – or what I do.  Cesari are rare.  There are Venatori Scrin who’s sole focus is studying Cesari.  That’s how much is unknown.  Everything I do comes from a blurred line.  A rule I don’t follow exactly.  A statement that isn’t quite true.

I mean I can’t even tell people what I do for real.  I’m an exterminator.  I’m a consultant.  What am I really?  I am a monster hunter.  But even that is far from the truth, I don’t hunt monsters I hunt the criminal elements of the supernatural races and I bring them to justice – Venatori justice but justice none-the-less.

 

 

