Of mice and men…

The best laid schemes of mice and men
Go often askew,

To a Mouse, on Turning Her Up in Her Nest with the Plough by Robert Burns in 1785

Most notably the title speaks of John Steinback’s book.  I don’t recall much of it only that Lennie is a big giant of a man who loves to pet soft things.  He breaks a girls neck and his friend George shoots him in the head out of love/mercy because of the lynch mob that’s about to get him.

The whole thing reminds me of the Green Mile and Bugs Bunny cartoons “I’ll hug him and squeeze him and call him George.”

But the title comes from the quote above a poem about a mouse and how man has destroyed her home.  Yet the man still feels sorry for himself after knowing what the mouse is going through.

It’s the most known tactic in combat.  You can plan all you like but once you start the fight you your plan isn’t going to work.  I wish my mother would have understood that.  Understood that her way wasn’t going to work – the were bear had killed others for entering her home.  If I’d gone first I would have protected myself with more than a gun.  Fire and Air and Earth form a better shield than a tactical vest and cotton t-shirt.

Regrets…

