Favorite Spot

Since I was eight or nine years old my favorite spot was the roof of the Apex Unlimited building.  The wind high above the city was brisk, the air much cleaner than it was down below.  It wasn’t perfect but it was my serenity growing up.

At first I was the only one up there, every once and a while Jace would follow me up and sit with me for hours on end.  We’d say nothing.  Do nothing other than sit and stare out at the sky.

When I graduated from the Academy and was sent away to the Rockies I missed it the most.  While the air was fresh and I could still see for miles, I missed the busyness of the city below, the feeling that I was outside of it.  In the Rockies I was always outside of it, the mood was much more laid back than that of New York City.

But there was no time that I ever felt alive more than when I was jumping from the top of the AU building with only my gift to save me.  It was 8 seconds of pure bliss.  8 seconds where I was in control of everything about my life.  8 seconds that were mine and only mine.  Jumping was freeing and inspiring.  I do miss the jump!

