Late Nights & Early Mornings

I wasn’t going to sleep, but I made my way to the offered bedroom. I was pretty certain they wanted alone time. And I completely understood that. The room was still extravagant in comparison to what I was used to myself. The curtains on the windows were probably more expensive than anything I owned. Every bit of the house I’d seen so far spoke of Magnus’ tastes and I wondered if Alec lived here full time or not, the two men were completely different in style and taste.

It brought me a twinge of pain that Dorian had no idea I was still alive and breathing. I flopped down on the bed and tried to sleep, but that wasn’t going to happen. I stared up at the ceiling and counted the shadows. This world was foreign and yet so very similiar. It was a strange sense of deja’vu.

But I knew better than trying to sleeping. Nightmares would plague my mind. I pulled my phone out and had no signal, which was to be expected. I sighed pulled my ear buds out of my hoodie pocket and started up a playlist and tried to rest, I knew what little sleep I’d get would be fitful.

And I was right, I woke with a start my heart racing and decided wandering around and picking things up for the two new parents was something I could easily manage. It wasn’t really an issue in my residence, Dorian insisted that we have a house keeper – he was a neat freak. But I was the one who kept everything organized. I had no clue where things went but I did my best at trying to make sure the baby’s things where in to their respective places.

There was still a mess where they had patched up Simon earlier that night. Blood soaked couch. A pile of used rages. Bottles of whatever it was. I straightened up the best I could without making noise. But I must have made some as Alec came out sleepily rubbing his eyes. I grinned at him as he stepped around me as I set the empty flasks and vials and various other things in the sink.

He asked me groggily, “Can’t sleep?”

“Nightmares.” I said flatly. I didn’t really want to get into it.

He nodded knowingly, “This life makes you see things you can’t unsee.”

I shrugged. “My nightmares still come from my childhood issues.”

Alec started a pot of coffee. “I’m sure this didn’t help that.”

Laughing felt good, “This is really nothing in comparison. Golden portals, a completely different world. What’s that compared to running around for 10 years fighting dragons, were creatures of all variety, demons, angels who’ve decided they want to do more than live a human life for a while. This is just another day. And now, I am the leader of a pack of werewolves, the high and mighty leader of a race of supernatural beings who live to hunt monsters, and the leader of an organization who’s primary goal was to undermine the other group.”

Alec whistled through his teeth as he poured a mug of coffee and handed it to me.

I took the cup. “Oh my god, thank you. Coffee is universal”.

Alec smiled and sipped at his. “How did that happen?”

I sighed and took a seat at the bar stool against the island in the middle of the grand kitchen. “It’s a long story, but the short of it is. I challenged the leader of the CCB for leadership of the organization to prevent them from hurting my friends back at home. After three fights I was the only one left standing.”

“Three?”

I laughed. “The first was my tormentor who thought he could control me. The second took offense to my even thinking I could challenge his friend and leader, so he challenged me for my pack.”

“I assume you killed for that one too?”

I nodded. “Paul was a friend. It was either him or me. He would have challeneged me to get rid of me. I was stealing young back members, and he was afraid I’d take more. I didn’t want to do it.”

Alec nodded knowingly. “That’s how it works here too – at least from what I gather with the wolves I know. Our current Alpha is a woman – completely not usual.”

I grinned. “With me gone, right now, my wife – Isabel, is in charge. But she has vampire back up if anyone challenges her. But I doubt she’d need it.” I picked up the story again, “I finally got to challenge the leader. I beat him fair and square and the CCB fell to me.”

I sighed. “That would have saved my people. But they decided that they would challenge the leader of the CCB. So they burst into our building making challenges before they know what they are doing. He tried to back out, but rules are the rules and I could not let it slide or my place would be compromised. I accepted. But I was tired, though to be fair I asked him if he wanted any stipulations on the match, he waved me away like it was nothing. I snapped his neck with air before the battle even started.”

“That was hardly sportsman like.” Alec was grinning over his cup of coffee.

I shrugged. “You fight one Magnus who taught you, a werewolf, and a weretiger and tell me what you’d have done in my place. Oh did I forget to mention, that weretiger venom was coursing through my veins, and I had been shredded to pieces before I managed to kill James. I wasn’t really in any shape for another physical altercation. I’ve been at it for three weeks and have been accepting a challenge every other day. All I can say is that I’m glad it was human magic that took me out of play – they have no claim on thrones in the supernatural world. Izzy will reign with the help of my family and friends until I return.”

Alec shook his head, “We’ll get you back home.”

“I appreciate it.” I looked at the clock on the coffee pot and was surprised at the time. “It’s later than I thought it was.”

Alec nodded, “Grab a shower if you want and we’ll go to the Institute and deal with whatever we have to and then we can start looking into ways to get you home. Magnus will probably have more luck, but he won’t be out of bed for several more hours at the earliest.”

“Truly amazing how much he and Dorian are alike and so very different. His dress and attire are more you, but he’s the ‘scholarly’ one.” I put air quotes around scholarly because Magnus didn’t act all that scholarly – wise perhaps but not like Dorian.

“Does Dorian get annoyed at your…” Alec pointed to the red color in my hair, the smeared make up and colored nails.

I shook my head, “No. He gets annoyed when I try to tone it down to be more professional.”

He grinned knowingly. I said, “I’ll catch that shower. Give me 20.” Alec nodded and was off back to the master bedroom and I found the spare bathroom. Showering was easy, clothes on the other hand not so much. Though I easily cleaned and dried my clothes – something I hadn’t done for months prior to ending up in the CCB but I could have. I even crafted an eyeliner pen with my gift and left it on the sink edge for next time.

There was a knock on the bathroom door. I opened it and Alec was holding extra toiletries in his hand brushing his teeth.

I pushed open the door wider so he could see the implements sitting on the side of the sick. “I can make most of what I need.”

Alec nodded and took his offering back with him with a smile but he stepped inside the bathroom and spit in the sink next to me. “Sorry.”

I grinned, “No worries.” I stood in the doorway and watched the tall archer walk down the hall admiring his assets before returning back to my progress.

