Alpha v Alpha

The music flowed through me keeping the best of the depression away. I was grateful for the distraction when a woman sat down next to me despite the look she was giving me. It wasn’t friendly, but it wasn’t aggressive either. She leaned over and spoke loudly. “What do you think you are doing?”

I raised an eyebrow and hoped this was a case of mistaken identies. “Pardon?” I asked.

“I don’t know you. You need to declare yourself to the pack leader!” She informed me rather rudely.

“I’m not a werewolf.” I turned back to the bar and tried to ignore the proximity of the woman next to me.

She stood closer to me and I could feel the power of her wolf trying to overpower mine and I looked at her like she was crazy. “I told you I’m not a werewolf. You can’t force me to change no matter what I feel like to you.”

She looked confused and put her hand on my arm and I felt the jolt of power as she tried again with contact. I sighed and put my hand on her shoulder and pushed her away from me and let my power flow thru here and I felt the ripple of her wolf giving over to me. “I told you, you can’t make me shift. I’m not a werewolf.”

Her mouth dropped into an O, “What are you?”

“Nothing you’ve ever heard of.” I sat back down and nursed my water.

“Who are you?” She demanded.

“My name is Nox.” I said flatly staring off into the mirror behind the bar. I saw Alec rushing this way with Magnus only a few steps behind.

Alec put his hand on the female wolf. “I’m sorry Maia, I should have said something earlier. He’s with me.”

She looked up at his blue eyes pleading his apology and smiled. “Alec, why do you have an undeclared wolf?”

He blinked at her and sighed, “It’s a long story. But he’s not a wolf, not really so I forgot about it. I’m sorry.”

Alec waved his hand in my general direction. “Nox, this is Maia, the Alpha of the New York pack. Maia, this is Nox. He’s kinda out of place, we need to get him home.”

Maia asked, “What is he? He feels like a wolf.”

I grinned at her. “It doesn’t matter what I am. I’m not a wolf.”

“But…” she stammered.

Alec put his hand on the little wolf and smiled. “It’s complicated. Trust me it’s better this way.” He turned to me with a sad smile, “Do you promise not to hurt another wolf or to try to take the pack away from Maia?”

I shrugged, “Why would I want to do that? It won’t get me home.” Alec gave me that look. The one that says humor me, please. Yes the please I could see in his eyes. “Fine. Yes, I’ll follow the rules. You have my word.”

“What good is his word if I don’t know him?” She was asking Alec.

He looked at me. “You have my word.” He looked at the little she-wolf, “That good?”

She nodded at Alec then looked at me with a sneer. “Don’t try what you did before again!”

I smiled at her, “Duckling, I didn’t start it.” I leaned forward and whispered in a loud voice so everyone could hear over the loud music, “You don’t touch me. I won’t touch you.”

She stalked off and I frowned. Sipping at my water. Alec tapped me on the shoulder and waved towards the door. It was time to go.

Alec fell into step with Magnus and they entwined their arms around each other and I felt like a third wheel following descretely behind them out of the club and into the chilly night air. I at least had a good view.

I saw Magnus turn around to see if I was still following, and once we were well past the noise of the club he nearly shouted, “I think our friend is checking us out.” to Alec.

I grinned as Magnus looked back, “And he doesn’t even deny it.”

I asked, “Should I?”

He shrugged his shoulders with flair, “Most people do when they get caught.”

“What’s the point in denying what you clearly saw? It’s not like you two aren’t cute together, or highly attractive men. I’m sure you’re both used to be stared at from time to time.” I waved away the thought that I should deny I was looking at them. “Besides, looking don’t hurt anybody.”

Magnus laughed. “Poor Alexander, is going do die from all the blood rushing to his poor face.”

I snickered. “I’m sure that’s where all the blood is rushing.” I knew that the archer boy’s face grew redder without having to even see it as he shifted uncomfortably under his boyfriend’s arm. I added, “Alec, if I bother you speak up. Or punch me, either way I’ll stop.”

Alec stopped and wound up his arm with a grin plastered on his face and I winiched when he let it fly and stopped with a gentle tap against my arm. He started walking off.

“Was that your way of telling me to knock it off?” I asked curiously.

Alec hung his head and shook slowly as he continued walking without saying a word. “I think he was being playful.” Magnus said. The colorful warlock put his arm around my shoulders. “You seem to be contagious.”

“I’ve been called worse things.”

