Dead Summons

Alec stood up and made me as well in one swift motion. “Go get something warmer to wear.”

I looked at him but the one the blue eyed archer returned was one I wasn’t about to back talk. He had that I am leader hear me roar look on his face and I did as I was told. Magnus chuckled as I left, “My little nephillim the leader.”

I grabbed a hoodie that I stole from the Institute coat room. No one seemed to mind, I’d been wearing it for a few weeks now with the chilly weather.

Magnus was standing near a wall waving his hands magnatimously and I watched as a purple portal opened and Alec turned around with his mouth open, he started to yell, “Nox…” He smiled, “you ready?”

I nodded. “As I’ll ever be. Not sure what kinda help I’m going to be after what I did out there.”

Magnus shook his head, “I still feel it coming off you in waves. Whatever you are, whatever it is you do makes me shudder inside from cold, over heating, like I’m drowning and suffocating all at the same time.”

I cocked my head to the side and closed my eyes and reigned my power in. I hadn’t realized anyone in this world could feel me. I opened my eyes, “That better?”

Magnus nodded. “What did you do?”

I shrugged. “I didn’t realize you could feel me. I let my control drift in my depressed state. It’s one way Jace knew to call Margo and tell him I was bad off.”

“Is that dangerous?” Alec asked.

“For most yes, but my control is second nature, I don’t have to think about it. I just let it drift around me so I don’t have to hold on to it.”

“Why doesn’t everyone do that then?” Magnus sounded confused.

“Because control wasn’t beaten into them. Their ability isn’t part of them, it’s extra. Venatori are super strong, super fast, killing machines, the magic in us is used for support not battle. It’s the way it has always been. But when you are weaker and slower you use everything in your aresenal to keep up.” I sighed just as Maryse walked into their living room and I frowned.

Alec took my elbow and directed me through the portal before his mother said anything to me. If she said anything after I had entered the portal I didn’t get to hear it as I landed on the other side and my stomach tried to empty it’s contents onto the floor but I’d not eaten anything that day for it to empty.

Simon was kneeling next to my bent form. “You alright?”

I nodded through dry heaves trying to catch my breath.

I felt the portal wink out and Alec’s hand on the small of my back holding me steady so I didn’t fall over. Everyone was staring at me, I could feel their eyes on me. Magnus waved everyone away, “Give him a moment. It’s been a rough day.”

I finally got control of my stomach and caught my breath, the only one still in the room was Alec who was watching me as I stood up. “Better?”

“I will never get use to that.”

Alec smiled, “You are the only person I know of who gets sick. You okay to move now?”

I nodded. “I think so.”

I followed Alec out of the room we came in, he stopped in their armory and tossed me crossbow with bolts. “Just in case.” He smiled.

I laughed. “How did you know?”

Alec shrugged, “Seemed appropriate.”

We left the Institute by the elevator which made my body roll with panic attacks which thankfully only Magnus and Alec actually noticed. My entire equillibrium was off and I was beginning to think it wasn’t my normal issues but more the displacement of being in the wrong place.

I didn’t bother trying to hide myself, I only veiled the crossbow so I didn’t look like a maniac walking through New York City with it. No one bothered me, no one spoke at all, lost in though, or the upcoming fight. We ended up at the same place I’d dropped into this world. It was crawling with demons. But what caught my eye was the glowing golden portal hanging in the same spot I’d fallen.

I wasn’t the only one who noticed the glowing doorway home. Magnus was there in a blink before it winked shut. He was alone, or so I thought when the shadows turned on him and collapsed on him. Everyone was sprinting, but I stood still as I saw a familiar shape rise out of the shadows with a glowing sword and take out the first that were about to crash into Magnus. I smiled. Ant!

I grounded my feet and I sent two razor sharp waves of air out from my hands in front of me. Each one strattling Ant and Magnus position like a ready lover. I yelled, “Down!” I didn’t wait to see if the other’s complied as I swept my hands away from my body cutting the demons and anything else in my path in half. Cutting a swath towards my friends.

I saw Jace and Clary running towards Magnus and soo Isabelle and Simon followed, Alec was hanging back with his arrows back on his feet pegging anything that even got remotely close to any of his friends. He looked at me and I smiled with a nod. The question being unspoken, I knew the new comer.

I noticed that Ant had a rumbled human by the scruff of his neck as he fought with the other hand. The battle raged around us and the demons were soon dispatched. I was covered in ichor as was everyone else. The shadow hunters turned on Ant with his flaming sword, their weapons at ready except for Alec who was offering him his hand.

I watched as Ant took Alec’s hand and shook with elegant grace. He smiled at Alec and Alec frowned as Ant’s fangs glinted against the dim light.

I formed a soft glowing orb of white light above us and Ant looked up at it with a smile then back at me. “Love, you are a sight for sore eyes.”

Magnus chuckled, “Love?”

I laughed, “A term of endearment from a very good friend.”

Alec was still frowning, “Vampires can’t do magic.”

“Primeval ones can – ones that were born vampire or embraced. Ant was born a vampire. His mother was not.”

“That’s not even possible” I heard Simon exhale.

“Normally no, but Ant’s mother was created to be unequal. Embraced by all 10 bloodlines plus Ant’s grandfather. She is Il Cane.”

It was Magnus who translated, “The Hound.”

Ant nodded. “My mother is feared by all vampires, and most supernatural creatures. She’s what you tell your children will come after you if you don’t brush your teeth. She is the vampire enforcer and Nox’s master.”

“I wouldn’t put it like that.” I whined. “We made an agreement.”

“You would come when she called no matter what and in return she’d protect your pack. She has held her end of the bargain.” Ant smiled. “Not that Izzy needed her help. But no one will stand against Isabel Setanta again – no vampire, no Venatori. Mother was so proud, she actually smiled.”

I laughed. “How did you get here?”

Magnus nodded, “By portal of course.” He held up a golden shard that looked almost like a mirror. “And we have your way home.”

Ant tugged the human he’d been holding between he and I. “This is the rifraf who sent you through. I have finally persauded him to open it again. He says he can’t open another one for a few days. Power drain.”

I looked at the ragged human Ant was holding and made him kneel with my power pulling him from Ant’s strong grip. I knelt down in front of him. “Why?”

He spit at me and I grinned at him letting the danger show in my face as I wove a tiny string of fire in front of me. “I will not ask again.”

Ant pulled the man up and shook his head. “He won’t speak. He only obeyed because I took his free will from him.”

I looked up at my friend and sighed. “Alright. Magnus does that really help?” I turned and looked at the sparks flying from his fingers.

He nodded. “Yes, but let’s finish this. We’ve a summoner to stop. I think the two events might be tied together now.”

I took the man and pushed him up against the wall and wove a wall of air around him as a prison. “If the demon’s get him I won’t cry.” I looked to Ant, “Want to kill demons with us?”

He smiled and I knew what his answer was. He shifted into the shadows and disappeared behind his shadow magic. “I think that was a yes.”

Alec nodded, “This level is clear. Upstairs we go.”

Jace went first followed by Clary and Isabelle. Simon and Magnus were next, I followed them with Alec at my rear. I could only assume Ant was somewhere with us. Alec fell in step with me, “You look better seeing your friend. He’s more than that isn’t he?”

I heard a soft chuckle in the shadows and Alec looked around for the voice. “You won’t find him. Yes, he’s more than that. Has been more in the past but at the moment he’s my bodyguard. His mother assigned him to my safety so her pet Cesari would remain safe with assassination attempts on my life.”

Ant’s voice echo’d in the shadows. “She was not happy when I failed you.”

I rolled my eyes. “You didn’t fail me. You couldn’t have done anything any differently.”

Jace held up a hand to stop and silent and we all did as instructed. He used hand signals to direct us all and everyone followed suit surrounding the room that was currently opening up in front of us. I felt a particular humm against my skin I didn’t know what it was.

Inside the room it was lit with fires and blood was everywhere, in the middle was a drawing on the ground. I heard Magnus gasp and he paled. The Shadow hunters were all staring at the drawing, Simon whispered, “Greater Demon.”

“Great!” I sighed. “What we have been fighting I assume are little baby things compared to whatever is making Magnus afraid.”

Alec nodded. “Yeah, that’s an understatement.”

“What can I do to help?” I asked.

